Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the HAMBLETON DISTRICT COUNCIL held at 2.15pm on Tuesday 17 May 2011 at the Civic Centre, Stone Cross, Northallerton

Present

Councillor J E Fletcher (In the Chair)

Councillor	D E Adamson	Councillor	J Noone
	R A Baker		Mrs C Patmore
	P Bardon		B Phillips
	K Billings		M J Prest
	D M Blades		M Rigby
	Mrs C S Cookman		A Robinson
	J Coulson		M S Robson
	G W Dadd		C R Rooke
	S P Dickins		Mrs I Sanderson
	G W Ellis		Mrs S A Shepherd
	Mrs F M Greenwell		Mrs M Skilbeck
	B Griffiths		D H Smith
	Mrs J A Griffiths		J N Smith
	A W Hall		P G Sowray
	K G Hardisty		T Swales
	R W Hudson		A P Wake
	J D Hugill		S Watson
	N W Huxtable		D A Webster
	R Kirk		P R Wilkinson
	N A Knapton		A W Wood

Honorary Alderman Mrs J Imeson OBE

Mrs S M Latter Mrs C M Seymour

(Apologies for absence were received from Councillors A W Barker, N D Clack and Mrs B S Fortune)

C.1 CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

C A Les

It was proposed by Councillor G W Dadd and seconded by Councillor Mrs S A Shepherd that Councillor P G Sowray be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor P G Sowray be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(The Chairman then signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair).

C.2 VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor G W Ellis and seconded by Councillor R Kirk that Councillor Mrs B S Fortune be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor Mrs B S Fortune be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

C.3 **LEADER OF THE COUNCIL**

It was proposed by Councillor M S Robson and seconded by Councillor R A Baker that Councillor N W Huxtable be appointed Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2015. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor N W Huxtable be elected Leader of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2015.

C.4 **CABINET**

The Leader informed the Council of the appointments to the Cabinet for 2011/2 as follows:-

Councillor B Phillips - Cabinet Member for Customer Services
Councillor T Swales - Cabinet Member for Housing and Planning
Councillor P R Wilkinson - Cabinet Member for Leisure and Health
Councillor N D Clack - Cabinet Member for Partnerships
Councillor R Kirk - Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for

One and Manager and

Corporate Management

THE DECISION:

That the appointments be received.

C.5 <u>ALLOCATION OF SEATS AND APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND</u> OUTSIDE BODIES

The Chief Executive asked the Council to consider approving the appointment of various Committees and appointments to Outside Bodies.

To comply with the Constitution that requires Committee appointments to be made by Council; that proportionality rules be waived in respect of the membership of Licensing Hearings Panel and Area Forums; to allow all Groups to be represented on the Standards Committee and to appoint Members as the Council representatives on Outside Bodies. Members agreed to appoint independent members and Parish Council representatives to the Standards Committee, that a representative of the North Yorkshire Police Authority be co-opted on as a non voting Member of either Scrutiny Committee, that the Deputy Leader and the Chairman of the Audit and Governance Committee be appointed to the North Yorkshire Audit Partnership and that the Cabinet Member for Partnerships be appointed to the North Yorkshire Building Control Partnership.

THE DECISION:

That:-

(1) the Council appoints the Committees indicated at Annexes 'A' and 'B';

- (2) proportionality rules be waived in respect of the membership of the Licensing Hearings Panel and in respect of the Area Forums to enable the membership to be as shown in Annex 'B';
- (3) Council appoints Members to the Standards Committee on the basis of two Conservative Group Members, two from the Independent Group and one from the Liberal Democrat Group;
- (4) Membership of the Committees be that shown at Annex 'C';
- (5) the Council appoints Mr B Ferguson, Mr R C Pennington and Mr J E White as the Council's independent members of the Standards Committee and Councillors Ms C Artingstoll, Ms J Crampton and Mr E Dennison as Parish Council representatives on the Standards Committee;
- (6) the Council appoints Members as the Council's representatives on Outside Bodies detailed within Annex 'D';
- (7) a representative of the North Yorkshire Police Authority be co-opted on as a non voting Member of either Scrutiny Committee;
- (8) the Deputy Leader and the Chairman of the Audit and Governance Committee be appointed as representatives on the North Yorkshire Audit Partnership;
- (9) the Cabinet Member for Partnerships be appointed as the representative on the North Yorkshire Building Control Partnership.

C.6 **SCHEME OF DELEGATION**

The Chief Executive asked the Council to consider approving the Scheme of Delegation for 2011/12.

It was noted that under paragraph 4.03 Specific Functions Delegated to the Chief Executive – Tourism that the Thirsk Tourist Information Centre should be deleted.

THE DECISION:

That the Scheme of Delegation for 2011/12 be approved subject to the deletion of the Thirsk Tourist Information Centre from paragraph 4.03 Specific Functions Delegated to the Chief Executive – Tourism.

The meeting closed at 2.38pm.
Chairman of the Council