Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the HAMBLETON DISTRICT COUNCIL held at 2.15pm on Tuesday 15 May 2012 at the Civic Centre, Stone Cross, Northallerton

Present

Councillor P G Sowray (In the Chair)

Councillor D E Adamson Councillor J Noone R A Baker Mrs C Patmore P Bardon **B** Phillips A W Barker M Rigby K Billings A Robinson D M Blades M S Robson Mrs C S Cookman C R Rooke G W Dadd Mrs I Sanderson Mrs B S Fortune Mrs S A Shepherd Mrs F M Greenwell Mrs M Skilbeck B Griffiths D H Smith Mrs J A Griffiths J N Smith A W Hall T Swales A P Wake K G Hardisty R W Hudson S Watson J D Hugill D A Webster N W Huxtable P R Wilkinson C A Les A W Wood

Honorary Alderman P Featherstone
J E Fletcher

Mrs J Imeson OBE
Mrs S M Latter

(Apologies for absence were received from Councillors J Coulson, S P Dickins, G W Ellis, R Kirk, N A Knapton and M J Prest)

C.1 CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs M Skilbeck and seconded by Councillor P R Wilkinson that Councillor Mrs B S Fortune be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor Mrs B S Fortune be elected Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

(The Chairman then signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair).

C.2 <u>VICE-CHAIRMAN OF THE COUNCIL</u>

It was proposed by Councillor J N Smith and seconded by Councillor Mrs I Sanderson that Councillor R A Baker be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year. There were no other nominations.

THE DECISION:

That Councillor R A Baker be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council for the ensuing year.

C.3 CABINET MEMBERS, DELEGATION AND MEMBER CHAMPIONS

The Leader presented a report informing Council of the appointments to the Cabinet for 2012/13; asked the Council to consider approving the Scheme of Delegation for Officers and gave consideration to the role of Member Champions.

THE DECISION:

That:

(1) the appointments to the Cabinet for 2012/13 be noted as follows:-

Councillor R Kirk - Resources and Deputy Leader

Councillor B Phillips - Corporate
Councillor T Swales - Customers

Councillor P R Wilkinson - Leisure and Health
Councillor M S Robson - Housing and Planning

- (2) the Scheme of Delegation for Officers be approved;
- (3) Article 15 together with other references to Member Champions be deleted from the Constitution and other Articles in the Constitution be renumbered.

C.4 <u>ALLOCATION OF SEATS AND APPOINTMENTS TO COMMITTEES AND</u> OUTSIDE BODIES

The Chief Executive asked the Council to consider approving the appointment of various Committees and appointments to Outside Bodies.

To comply with the Constitution that requires Committee appointments to be made by Council; that proportionality rules be waived in respect of the membership of Licensing Hearings Panel, the Standards Hearings Panel and Area Forums and to agree terms of reference for the Audit, Governance and Standards Committee and the Standards Hearings Panel. Members agreed to appoint independent members and Parish Council representatives to the Standards Committee until the Committee ceased to exist when the Localism Act 2011 provisions came into effect and to appoint independent members and Parish Council representatives to the Standards Hearings Panel from the date the Standards provisions in the Localism Act 2011 came fully into effect. To appoint Members as the Council representatives on Outside Bodies, that the Thirsk and Sowerby Baths Charity be requested to reduce the number of Council nominees as trustees to five, that a representative of the North Yorkshire Police Authority be co-opted on as a non voting Member of Scrutiny Committee 2, that the Cabinet Member for Customers be appointed as the representative on the North Yorkshire Building Control Partnership and the Leader of the Council be appointed as the District Council's Member of the North Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel.

THE DECISION:

That:-

- (1) the Council appoints the Committees indicated at Annexes 'A' and 'B';
- (2) proportionality rules be waived in respect of the membership of the Licensing Hearings Panel, the Standards Hearings Panel and in respect of the Area Forums to enable the membership to be as shown in Annex 'B';
- (3) Membership of the Committees be that shown at Annex 'C';
- (4) the Terms of Reference of the Audit, Governance and Standards Committee and the Standards Hearings Panel be as set out in Annex 'D';
- (5) the Council appoints Mr B Ferguson, Mr R C Pennington and Mr J E White as the Council's independent members of the Standards Committee and Councillors Ms C Artingstoll, Ms J Crampton and Mr E Dennison as Parish Council representatives on the Standards Committee until the Standards Committee ceases to exist when the Localism Act 2011 provisions come into effect;
- (6) the Council appoints Mr B Ferguson, Mr R C Pennington and Mr J E White as the Council's independent members of the Standards Committee and Councillors Ms C Artingstoll, Ms J Crampton and Mr E Dennison as Parish Council representatives on the Standards Hearings Panel from the date the Standards provisions in the Localism Act 2011 provisions come fully into effect;
- (7) the Council appoints Members as the Council's representatives on Outside Bodies detailed within Annex 'E':
- (8) The Thirsk and Sowerby Baths Charity be requested to reduce the number of Council nominees as trustees to five;
- (9) a representative of the North Yorkshire Police Authority be co-opted on as a non voting Member of Scrutiny Committee 2;
- (10) the Cabinet Member for Customers be appointed as the representative on the North Yorkshire Building Control Partnership;

	and the man is a second of the man is a secon
(11)	the Leader of the Council be appointed as the District Council's Member of the North Yorkshire Police Crime Panel.
The	meeting closed at 2.48pm.
Chai	rman of the Council