Public Document Pack

Minutes of the meeting of the Council held at 2.35 pm on Tuesday, 15th September, 2020 at Council Chamber, Civic Centre, Stone Cross, Rotary Way, Northallerton, DL6 2UU. This meeting is also avilable to join via Teams.

Present

Councillor K G Hardisty (in the Chair)

Councillor	P Atkin	Councillor	Mrs J W Mortimer
	P Bardon		J Noone
	M A Barningham		G Ramsden
	G W Dadd		M S Robson
	C A Dickinson		Mrs I Sanderson
	D B Elders		M G Taylor
	Mrs B S Fortune		P Thompson
	B Griffiths		A Wake
	R W Hudson		D Watkins
	R Kirk		S Watson
	N A Knapton		D A Webster
	C A Les		

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors D Hugill, B Phillips, A Robinson and P R Wilkinson

C.1 Chairman

It was proposed by Councillor J Noone and seconded by Councillor D A Webster that Councillor M Barningham be elected Chairman of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2021. There were no other nominations.

The decision:

That Councillor M Barningham be elected Chairman of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2021.

(The Chairman then read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office and took the Chair).

C.2 Appointment of Vice-Chairman

It was proposed by Councillor Mrs B S Fortune and seconded by Councillor K G Hardisty that Councillor A Wake be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2021. There were no other nominations.

The decision:

That Councillor A Wake be appointed Vice-Chairman of the Council until the Annual Meeting in May 2021.

(The Vice-Chairman then read out and signed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office).

C.3 Announcements by the Chairman or Chief Executive

The Chairman announced that he would be supporting the Yorkshire Air Ambulance as his chosen charity during his term of office.

C.4 Cabinet Members and Delegation of Functions

The Chief Executive presented a report which asked the Leader to inform the Council of the appointments to the Cabinet for 2020/21 and asked the Council to approve the Scheme of Delegation for Officers.

The decision:

That:-

(a) the appointments to Cabinet by the Leader for 2020/21 be noted as follows:-

Councillor Peter Wilkinson - Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Finance and Economic

Development

Councillor Mrs Bridget Fortune Councillor Mrs Isobel Sanderson Councillor Malcolm Taylor

Portfolio Holder for LeisurePortfolio Holder for Governance

Portfolio Holder for Transformation

and Projects

Councillor Steven Watson - Portfolio Holder for Environmental

Health, Waste and Recycling

Councillor David Webster - Portfolio Holder for Planning

(b) the Scheme of Delegation for Officers be approved.

C.5 Allocation of Seats and Appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies

The Chief Executive presented a report which asked Council to approve the allocation to seats and appointments to Committees and Outside Bodies.

The decision:

That:-

(1) the Council appoints the Committees indicated at Annex 'A' of the report;

- (2) proportionality rules be waived in respect of the membership of the Standards Hearings Panel;
- (3) Membership of the Committees be that shown at Annex 'B' of the report;
- (4) the Council appoints as the Council's representatives on Outside Bodies identified with an asterisk within Annex 'C of the report those Members indicated against those Outside Bodies;
- (5) the Scrutiny Committee be responsible for crime and disorder issues;
- (6) the Cabinet Portfolio Holder for Planning be appointed as the representative on the North Yorkshire Building Control Partnership;
- (7) the Deputy Leader of the Council be appointed as the District Council's Member of the North Yorkshire Police and Crime Panel; and
- (8) Councillor N A Knapton be appointed as the representative on The Parking and Traffic Regulation Outside London Adjudication Joint Committee.

The meeting closed at 3.02 pm			
Chairman of the Council			

